Puerto Princesa, Philippines

Puerto Princesa. A city which I never expect to even step foot on. Pretty much the same story as my Clark post, I happened to get air tickets to this city for a cheap cheap price. After blindly booking my air tickets, I decided to do some research on it. Typical of me to do this sort of thing. Purchased an air ticket to a random destination and then do my research.

I flew into Puerto Princesa from Clark. The flight took me over an hour. It was pretty bumpy as it was a typhoon season. As soon as the plane landed at Puerto Princesa Airport, it was probably the smallest airport I have ever seen. Took me less than 10 minutes to reach the arrival hall. Upon arrival I was greeted by Anne, the guest house representative. I had made prior arrangement to stay at House of Rose. The owner, Andy Simmons and Australian man who relocated to the Philippines many years ago was also there to fetch me. It was really kind of them.

So I lied. I didn’t research at all for this trip. Immediately I logged on to the internet to find things to do in Puerto Princesa. I talked to Anne about what I wanted to do for the rest of my stay in Puerto Princesa. I chose two tours; city tour (PHP600) and Sabang’s Underground River (PHP1500) and eventually Honda Bay (PHP1300) too. My City Tour was scheduled to start tomorrow.


Immaculate Conception Cathedral

During the Spanish era, it was just a small church. But in 1961, it was reconstructed and was made a Cathedral.

Immaculate Conception Cathedral (Picture Credits: Wikipedia). Mine wasn’t too good.

The interior of Immaculate Conception Cathedral

Plaza Cuartel

Plaza Cuartel is the restored ruins of an old garrison where Japanese soldiers burned 143 American prisoners of war inside a tunnel and stands as a grim reminder of WWII.

The Old Gate of Plaza Cuartel

Memorial for the 143 US soldiers who died

Iwahig Prison

Originally built by the Spanish regime for exiles, it was only established by the American Colonialist during the the US occupation. Now, it house mild crime inmates throughout the country. What makes the prison special is that the inmates are free to roam around vicinity and they can choose their vocation ranging from farming to dancing. Yes, dancing and I’m not kidding.

Iwahig Prison

They even have a souvenir shop!

Dancing prisoners? Yeah. They are real prisoners!

Inspired by dancing prisoners of Cebu’s Provincial Detention’s and Rehabilitation Centre, they too have their own slick moves. Unlike the one in Cebu, Iwahig’s dancers are small number.

Handmade souvenirs made my Iwahig Prison inmates

Wildlife Rescue and Conservation Center

Wildlife Rescue and Conservation Center or popularly known as Crocodile Farm to many tourists

Urgh. Crocs.

Mitra’s Ranch

Owned by the family of a former senator, this is a popular tourist attraction. Located in Sta Monica, this attraction offers an awesome view of Honda Bay. There is a viewdeck on top of the hill and it’s open to everyone who wants to have a relaxing time. Picnic is encouraged but at that time the grass was wet.

Stunning view of Mitra’s Ranch

Baker’s Hill

Open by a lady who started out as a humble baker, she know owns a few houses and a huge land. Really inspiring!

Palawan’s Baker’s Hill

That’s me and Mr So & So

Baker’s Hill speciality is Hopia. Hopia is a type of pastry with different flavoured sweet fillings. My personal favourite is Hopia Haba. It contains onion and it wasn’t as sweet as other flavours. Should have bought more! It only cost PHP45 for a box! That’s like less than SGD2.00!

Hopias and more hopias!

Hopia!

2 thoughts on “Puerto Princesa, Philippines

  1. Beautiful! Was in the Philippines in 1981…then there came troubled times in that country. I do wish I could go again sometime. Loved the place, the people…the music.

    • 1981? That was way before I was born. LOL. You must go. Philippines is way cheaper than anywhere else and it’s more exotic and not many tourists. Mostly local tourists though.

Leave a comment